Landmarks by jurisdiction

Landmarks by jurisdiction

The landmarks are drawn from five jurisdictions: the UK, England & Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and Ireland. Some of the landmarks apply across all these jurisdictions, others to only to some or one of them. Moreover, during the time-period of the project, these jurisdictions have come together, separated, been created, and co-existed to varying degrees. Indeed, at the time of our first landmark – circa 950 – what we now know as Wales, Ireland, Scotland and England looked very different indeed.

You can read all the landmarks within a jurisdiction by clicking on the drop down box in the top menu.

We have tagged the landmarks according to the originating jurisdiction/legal system.


Find out more about the Women’s Legal Landmarks Project

Project leaders, Rosemary Auchmuty and Erika Rackley, talk to Elizabeth Woodcraft about the aims, methodology and ambitions for the Project for PodAcademy

Get involved

The landmarks that appear on this website were chosen by participants in the Women’s Legal Landmarks Project.

If you think a key positive legal landmark for women is missing and you’d like to write about it – then get in touch.

Search the Landmarks

Follow us on Twitter